2017-2018 West Allis Nathan Hale Girls Basketball Varsity Team

2017-2018 Greater Metro Conference Champions

2017-2018 WIAA Regional Champions

2017-2018 Varsity Roster

Number Name Height Position Grade
5 Catherine Gerschwiler 5'9" F 12
10 Maddie Lawson 6'0" F 12
11 Calie Walk 5'6" G 11
13 Zoe Burczyk 5'6" G 12
14 KellyAnn Sotiros 5'9" F 12
20 Abby Arena 5'11" F 12
23 Alyssa Cruz 5'6" G 12
24 Natalia Leguizamon 5'7" G 11
25 Abi Stevens 5'9" G 11
30 Kristen Swofford 5'4" G 12
31 Amber Lee 5'6" G 11
32 Alexis Breznik 5'9" F 11
45 Brynn Zimmerman 5'6" G 11

Captains: Abby Arena, Zoe Burczyk, Alyssa Cruz, KellyAnn Sotiros
Elaine Zheng & Beatrice Zennaro

Click HERE for the 2017-2018 End of the Year Banquet Document

Congratulations to the following awards after the banquet

Alyssa Cruz - First team NOW Suburban Newspapers and Third Team Journal/Sentinel All-Area Team
KellyAnn Sotiros - Honorable Mention Journal/Sentinel All-Area Team
Coach Sotiros & Staff - Journal/Sentinel All-Area Coach of the Year and NOW Suburban Newspapers Coach of the Year

For articles with more information click below

NOW Suburban Newspapers 2017-2018 All-Suburban Team

Journal/Sentinel 2017-2018 All-Area Team

Congratulations - the 2017-2018 Girls Basketball Program Award Winners

Greater Metro Conference 1st Team -Alyssa Cruz
Greater Metro Conference 2nd Team - KellyAnn Sotiros
Greater Metro Conference Honorable Mention - Abi Stevens, Zoe Burczyk, Abby Arena
Greater Metro Conference Scholar Athletes - Abby Arena, Zoe Burczyk, Maddie Lawson, KellyAnn Sotiros, Kristen Swofford

Captain’s award:  Abby Arena, Zoe Burczyk, Alyssa Cruz, KellyAnn Sotiros
Coaches award:  Abby Arena
Hustle award:  Abi Stevens
Co-Offensive player of the year:  Zoe Burczyk & Alyssa Cruz
Defensive player of the year:  KellyAnn Sotiros
Most Improved player: Calie Walk
Top newcomer – first year varsity experience: Natalia Leguizamon

Varsity statistical awards:
Student athlete of the year (highest cumulative GPA – minimum of 3 semesters): Zoe Burczyk
Rebound leader:  Abby Arena 163
Assist leader:  Alyssa Cruz 158
Top FT % leader (minimum of 15 FTA):  Zoe Burczyk 82.9% (34-41)
Steals leader:  Alyssa Cruz 72
Blocks leader:  Abi Stevens 30
Scoring leader:  Alyssa Cruz 270

2017-2018 GMC Scholar Athletes (seniors with a 3.5 GPA or higher)
West Allis Hale: Abby Arena, Zoe Burczyk, Maddie Lawson, KellyAnn Sotiros, Kristen Swofford
Brookfield Central: Kristin Gaulke, Reagan Lawrence, Jenny Cape
Brookfield East: Lauren Davies, Emma Ralfs, Nikki Pink, Emma Kiekhofer, Carlie Smith,
Molly DeValkenaere, Katie Andrews, Adriana Plavsic, Siobhan Sullivan    
DSHA: Alex Shaw
Germantown: Elllie Decker, Sarah Guagliardo, Kellie Hasbrook, Megan Ische, Allison Knop, Sarah Kucharski, Claire Stevlingson
Sussex Hamilton: Eliana Selin, Taylor Fuerstenberg, Taylor Laboy, Brooke Barbeau,
Taliah Carlson, Kristin Thompson
Menomonee Falls: Jessica Boerner, Lexi Boram, Samantha Kruk, Maggie Lessila,
Megan Jackson, Sarah Navin
Wauwatosa East: Liz Bueckers, Mariana Ibanez-Baldor, Margo Lipscomb, Molly Person,
Olivia Romfoe, Anna Watry
Wauwatosa West: Emma Elliot, Emily Wagy

2017-2018 GMC All-Conference

Player of the year:  Natalie McNeal - Germantown
1st Team All-Conference: Alyssa Cruz (WAH), Anna Mortag (BC), Molly DeValkenaere (BE), Jadin O’Brien (DSHA), Brooklyn Blackburn (TE)
2nd Team All-Conference: KellyAnn Sotiros (WAH), Kate Richmond (GT), Taylor Hibike (SH), Taylor Laboy (SH), Jessica Boerner (MF)
Honorable Mention All-Conference: Abi Stevens (WAH), Zoe Burczyk (WAH), Abby Arena (WAH), Maddie Brauer (BC), Nikki Pink (BE), Aliyah Garcia (DSHA), Jackie Jarosz (DSHA), Ellie Cesarz (DSHA), Tanya McNeal (GT), Eliana Selin (SH), Taylor Fuerstenberg (SH), Lexi Boram (MF), Mariana Ibanez-Baldor (TE), Irene Phillips (TW)

2017-2018 Varsity Schedule

Date Varsity  Opponent Location Result
11/11/2017   Scrimmage (Wisco/CMH/Case) Nathan Hale  
11/17/2017 7:15 PM Whitnall Whitnall Won 69-47
11/21/2017 7:15 PM South Milwaukee (P) Nathan Hale Won 77-62
11/25/2017 10:45 AM Greenfield Brook Central Won 62-50
11/28/2017 7:15 PM Thomas More (T) Nathan Hale Won 53-47
12/1/2017 7:15 PM Wauwatosa East Wauwatosa East Won 45-33
12/8/2017 7:15 PM Menomonee Falls Men Falls Won 57-51
12/12/2017 7:15 PM Germantown Nathan Hale Won 81-73
12/15/2017 7:15 PM Brookfield East Brookfield East Lost 54-52
12/19/2017 7:15 PM Sussex Hamilton Nathan Hale Won 60-56
12/22/2017 7:15 PM Wisconsin Lutheran (A) Nathan Hale Won 59-39
12/28/2017 6:00 PM Oconomowoc Oconomowoc Won 64-60
1/5/2018 7:15 PM Brookfield Central Brook Central Won 50-47
1/9/2018 7:15 PM Wauwatosa West Nathan Hale Won 59-38
1/16/2018 7:15 PM DSHA DSHA Won 51-43
1/19/2018 7:15 PM Wauwatosa East Nathan Hale Won 54-40
1/23/2018 7:15 PM Menomonee Falls Nathan Hale Won 49-30
1/26/2018 6:00 PM Germantown Germantown Won 64-53
1/30/2018 7:15 PM DSHA Nathan Hale Lost 61-60
2/2/2018 7:15 PM Brookfield East (Y) Nathan Hale Won 51-41
2/6/2018 7:15 PM Sussex Hamilton Sussex Hamilton Lost 44-35
2/13/2018 7:15 PM Wauwatosa West Wauwatosa West Won 64-46
2/14/2018 7:15 PM Brookfield Central (S) Nathan Hale Won 62-52
2/23/2018 7:00 PM WIAA Regional - Racine Park Nathan Hale Won 73-52
2/24/2018 7:00 PM WIAA Regional - Brookfield Central Nathan Hale Won 63-61 OT
3/1/2018 7:00 PM WIAA Sectional - Oak Creek Waukesha South Lost 60-43
    Special Events    
    (P) Parents Night    
    (T) Varsity Teacher Appreication Night    
    (A) Alumni Night    
    (Y) Youth Night    
    (S) Senior Night    
    Reserve Game Schedule    
12/2/2017 9:00 AM New Berlin West New Berlin West  
1/13/2018 10:30 AM New Berlin West Nathan Hale  
1/27/2018 10:00 AM Kettle Moraine Kettle Moraine  

Story in the Journal/Sentinel from 12/19/17 (Five Takeaways from West Allis Hale beat Sussex Hamilton 60-56)

Click HERE


Honored and humbled being asked to be on WSSP 105.7 the Fan by Mike McGivern for his Varsity Blitz Coaches show to talk some Hale Girls Varsity Basketball tomorrow morning from 10:00 a.m. to Noon (Saturday 2/17/18).




Will also have our four senior captains Alyssa Cruz, KellyAnn Sotiros, Zoe Burczyk and Abby Arena! Couldn't ask for four better captains! I'm sure they will tell Mike some embarrasing stories about me.


Anna DeForge a Wisconsin Basketball Hall of Famer, 5-Time European Champion, 2-Time WNBA All-Star, 2-Time All-American and one of the coveted 5 players to be named to the University of Nebraska All Century Team was nice enough to come by and talk with our JV and Varsity teams the other evening. THANK YOU ANNA!



W7 Productions will be webcasting our January 30th home game versus DSHA LIVE



A Very special Thank you to all of the Teachers for a fantastic Teacher Appreciation Night

11/28 is Teacher Appreciation Night


Some pictures from the Season (special thanks on many of these to Alan Herzberg)


Thank you to our Seniors